Part Three: The Major and Minor Arcana

The Tarot consists of 78 cards, divided into two distinct groups: the Major Arcana and the Minor Arcana. The Major Arcana is a set of 22 cards that represent significant life events, deep psychological archetypes, and spiritual truths. These cards often signify major turning points or pivotal experiences in an individual's life. The Major Arcana can be seen as the framework for understanding the journey of the human soul, as it moves through the different stages of personal development and spiritual growth.

Each card in the Major Arcana carries a unique symbolism, often drawn from various religious and esoteric traditions. They serve as powerful reminders of the eternal truths that guide and shape our lives. Some of the most well-known cards in the Major Arcana include The Fool, representing the beginning of a journey or a leap of faith; The Magician, symbolizing personal power and the ability to manifest desires; The High Priestess, signifying intuition and the mysteries of the subconscious mind; The Lovers, representing relationships and the choices we make in love; and The World, symbolizing the culmination of one's spiritual journey and the achievement of wholeness.

The Minor Arcana, on the other hand, consists of 56 cards divided into four suits: Cups, Pentacles, Swords, and Wands. These cards reflect the more mundane aspects of life and offer insights into the everyday challenges and opportunities that we encounter. The Minor Arcana helps us understand the subtle influences that shape our daily experiences and the choices we make.

Each suit in the Minor Arcana corresponds to a specific element and aspect of human experience. Cups are associated with water and represent the emotional realm, encompassing relationships, feelings, and intuition. Pentacles, connected to the element of earth, symbolize the material world and focus on issues related to finances, work, and physical well-being. Swords, linked to air, represent the intellectual sphere and involve matters of the mind, communication, and decision-making. Finally, Wands are associated with the element of fire and represent creativity, passion, and spiritual growth.

In each suit, there are ten numbered cards (Ace through Ten) and four court cards (Page, Knight, Queen, and King). The numbered cards reflect different stages or manifestations of their respective suits, while the court cards represent various aspects of personality and human characteristics.

Previous Lesson
Next Lesson